Our websites use cookies to make browsing as smooth as possible. For full details and options, just visit our cookies page.

The New Grade 9-1 GCSEs Explained

What are the 9-1 GCSEs?

New GCSE Maths and English courses started in September 2015, and other subjects (including GCSE Science) followed suit in September 2016. The remaining subjects (such as GCSE Business) begin the new courses in September 2017.

The new courses are more challenging than ever, with all the exams set at the end of Year 11. There’s even a new ‘9-1’ grading system, where Grade 9 will be reserved for the very top tier of students...

The new '9-1' grading system

For each subject, the old and new courses will run in parallel for one year — in the first year, Year 10s will be studying the new courses while Year 11s finish the 'old' courses.

A bit more detail

  • The first new exams for GCSE Maths and English were taken in summer 2017. The new GCSE Science exams will start in summer 2018.
  • There's no Foundation Level in the new English GCSEs — students of all abilities will take the same exams.
  • There are fewer course options in the new Science GCSEs. Most students will either take the new Combined Science course (worth two GCSEs) or three separate GCSEs in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.
  • Coursework and practical assessments play a much smaller part in the new GCSE courses — which means most of the marks are won or lost in the exams at the end of Year 11. No pressure...
The GCSE '9-1' book range

Relax — CGP have it covered!

Just follow these links to browse our Grade 9-1 ranges for GCSE English, Maths, Science, Modern Languages, Geography, History, Music, Physical Education, Computer Science, Religious Studies, Food Preparation & Nutrition, Business and D&T.

For more information about the new courses or any CGP products, drop us a line at customerservices@cgpbooks.co.uk or ring our friendly team for a chat on 0800 1712 712.